This site is about me, my life and lots of random stuff

Why Math Counts

Retail | Michigan, USA

Customer: *hands me two identical coupons*

Me: “You want to use two 20% off coupons? That takes two dollars off each item. Using a five dollar off one would save you an extra dollar. Would you rather use that one?”

Customer: “But using these two coupons saves me more.”

Me: “Actually, you only save four dollars by using those. The five dollar one would save you more.”

Customer: “But using more coupons saves more money!”

Me: “That one coupon is worth more savings than those two, though. That coupon would save you a dollar more, and you can use those two 20% ones another day. Five dollars is more than four dollars.”

Customer: “No, it’s not! I don’t understand how you think that!”

4 responses

  1. fullblather

    Yeah… This sounds about right.

    This isn’t math-related, but it reminded me of when I was a cashier and all the states started coming out with their own coins. A woman attempted to pay me with a Canadian coin, so I explained I couldn’t take it, it wasn’t American currency. “THEY’RE TAKING MONEY FROM ALL THE STATES NOW!” she screamed at me. Oh, people.

    06/02/2011 at 19:47

    • Hahaha, some people are just so dense ^^

      06/02/2011 at 20:02

  2. fullblather

    Thank you! I’m excited. I’ve been blogging for 10 years but haven’t used this forum yet! Whee!

    06/02/2011 at 20:56

    • Nice :) I’ve only been blogging for about a year, but that was also on another blog site. Only had this blog for about a month, I use it mostly for things I find funny and/or interesting, hehe.

      06/02/2011 at 21:21

Leave a Reply

